ProVerum and the EIC Accelerator: A Prostate Stent FDA Approved

29 September 20261,203 words7 min

An enlarged prostate, benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH), squeezes the urethra and makes urination difficult for millions of older men. ProVerum, a spin-out from Trinity College Dublin, developed ProVee: a nitinol stent placed through a narrow video-guided scope that gently holds the prostatic urethra open, without cutting, burning or removing tissue, according to the company.

The European Innovation Council backed ProVerum twice: a €2.5 million grant under its pilot in 2020, and an equity-only award, listed as "ProVee II", at the June 2021 cut-off. Since then the company has raised €30 million and $80 million from private investors and, in December 2025, won FDA approval. On the public record it has reached major milestones. What the public record does not show is whether the EIC's 2021 equity was ever invested.

$80MSeries B, August 2025
Dec 2025FDA approval of the ProVee System
€2.5MEarlier EIC pilot grant, 2020
?EIC Fund stake from the 2021 equity award: not disclosed

Company file

Legal entity
ProVerum Limited, Dublin, Ireland
Founded
2016 per EIT Health (2015 per Trinity College Dublin)
Founders
Ríona Ní Ghriallais, Conor Harker
CEO
Paul Bateman
Product
ProVee System, prostatic urethral stent for BPH (FDA approved December 2025)
Investors
MVM Partners, OrbiMed, ISIF, Gilde Healthcare, Lightstone Ventures, Atlantic Bridge, Enterprise Ireland
Earlier EIC award
ProVee, EIC Accelerator pilot, January 2020 cut-off, grant only, €2.5M
EIC award
ProVee II, June 2021 cut-off, equity only
CORDIS project
954555 for ProVee (2020 grant); none for ProVee II, as equity-only awards carry no grant agreement

Where ProVerum Stands Today

On 9 December 2025 the FDA approved the ProVee System, according to the company and UroToday. The approval rested on ProVIDE, a randomised, double-blind, sham-controlled trial that the company says met all primary and secondary endpoints, with symptom relief and better urinary flow through 12 months and no device- or procedure-related serious adverse events.

Four months earlier, ProVerum had closed an $80 million Series B led by MVM Partners, with OrbiMed and the Ireland Strategic Investment Fund joining Gilde Healthcare, Lightstone Ventures, Atlantic Bridge and Enterprise Ireland. Trinity College Dublin called it the largest round ever raised by an Irish university spin-out. The company said the proceeds would be used "to prepare for commercialization".

The Technology: Holding the Urethra Open

ProVee takes a mechanical route rather than removing or destroying tissue: a stent-like expander, delivered through a scope the same diameter as the one urologists use to diagnose BPH, so it can be placed in an office setting. The company says it preserves sexual function and does not require a catheter after the procedure.

"FDA approval of the ProVee System marks a major step forward for ProVerum and for men living with BPH."

Paul Bateman, CEO, ProVerum, December 2025

What the EIC Award Was, and What the Record Shows

The 2020 grant was for ProVee, "ProVee CE Mark and EU commercialisation plan", a grant-only award at the January 2020 cut-off of the EIC Accelerator pilot under Horizon 2020, according to the European Commission's winner list. It ran from May 2020 to April 2022 with an EU contribution of €2,499,999 towards a total cost of €3,750,635, and promised clinical evidence from a 50-patient CE trial and CE Mark approval, according to CORDIS. The final report records validated manufacturing processes, MDR compliance, a full FDA Investigational Device Exemption in December 2021 and the first patient enrolled in the US ProVIDE study in the second quarter of 2022. It does not report a CE trial or a CE mark, and we found no announcement of a CE mark since.

The June 2021 award to ProVerum was equity only: no grant, and therefore no CORDIS project or report. Silicon Republic reported it among five Irish EIC winners in October 2021. The funded technology, the ProVee System, has since been approved. But the EIC Fund is not named in the January 2022 Series A announcement or in the 2025 Series B, and we found no public record of an EIC Fund investment.

  1. A pivotal US trialDeliveredProVIDE, sham-controlled, met all endpoints per the company.
  2. FDA approvalDelivered9 December 2025.
  3. Private follow-on capitalDelivered€30M Series A and $80M Series B.
  4. EIC equity investedNot disclosedEIC Fund not named in any round.

What Has Happened Since the Award

The record

From a Trinity incubator to FDA approval

The EIC selected ProVerum twice: a grant under the 2020 pilot, then an equity-only award at the June 2021 cut-off.

  1. 2016Company foundedTrinity College Dublin spin-out; Ríona Ní Ghriallais and Conor Harker
  2. 2019First in manStudy in Australia with positive safety and feasibility results
  3. 2020EIC pilot grantProVee, grant under the EIC Accelerator pilot (January 2020 cut-off)€2.5M
  4. Jun 2021EIC equity awardProVee II selected for equity only
  5. Dec 2021FDA IDEApproval to start the pivotal US trial
  6. Jan 2022Series ACo-led by Gilde Healthcare and Lightstone Ventures€30M
  7. Aug 2025Series BLed by MVM Partners with OrbiMed and ISIF$80M
  8. Dec 2025FDA approvalProVee System approved after the sham-controlled ProVIDE trial

EIT Health, Silicon Republic, PR Newswire, Trinity College Dublin, EU-Startups and UroToday.

The path

Four years from trial approval to FDA approval

Months after the FDA granted the investigational device exemption in December 2021.

PR Newswire, January 2022, August 2025 and December 2025.

The Money

The money

Private rounds far outweighed public grants

Disclosed funding in millions of euros. The Series B was $80M, reported as €68.6M. No EIC Fund investment has been disclosed.

EIT Health; PR Newswire; EU-Startups.

ProVerum's early public funding came from EIT Health (€50,000 in 2016), the EIC pilot grant (€2.5 million in 2020) and Ireland's Disruptive Technologies Innovation Fund (€2.94 million in 2021), according to EIT Health. The private rounds that followed were far larger: the Series B alone, reported at €68.6 million by EU-Startups, was more than 25 times the EIC grant.

The mix

Public grants were 5% of disclosed funding

Disclosed grants and equity rounds in millions of euros, excluding the small EIT Health award and any undisclosed EIC equity.

EIT Health; PR Newswire; EU-Startups.

What cannot be checked

Whether the EIC's 2021 equity award was invested, declined or cancelled, and on what terms, is not public. ProVerum's sales since approval are not published.

Why Europe Should Care

ProVerum is an Irish university spin-out that has taken a medical device all the way to FDA approval, with Irish state funds among its investors. Its first market is the US, where the company says more than 12 million men are actively managed for BPH. European patients would need a CE mark, which we found no announcement of.

What the EIC backed

ProVee II: a simple, safe, office-based BPH treatment, supported with EIC equity.

What the record shows

FDA approval and more than €98M of private funding, but no disclosed EIC Fund investment and no European approval yet.

The Verdict

A success the EIC may not own

On the public record ProVerum has reached major milestones: a randomised trial that the company says met its endpoints, FDA approval and, according to Trinity College Dublin, the largest round ever raised by an Irish university spin-out. The EIC's 2020 grant helped early on. Whether the EU also holds a stake from its 2021 equity award, and so shares in the upside, is something neither the EIC nor the company has made public.

ProVerum has not been asked for comment for this article. It is based entirely on public records, company statements and EU announcements, linked throughout.

Industry

HealthMedical devices

Focus
  • Urology devices
Technologies
  • Shape-memory alloys
Keywords
  • Benign prostatic hyperplasia
  • Office-based procedures
  • Men's health
  • Prostatic stents